Skip to content

Danish potato cake / Kartoffelkage

August 26, 2012

Kartoffelkage – Potato cake, is the name of this cake invented in the beginning of 1900. It doesn´t contain any potato, the name comes from the shape of it. The baker who made this one, obviously didn´t take that point too seriously.. It´s made of Choux-pastry with vanilla-cream, and a top of marzipan, covered with cocoa.
Depending of the quality, the lowest prise will be around 2,5 – 3 USD. A good quality from “La Glace” cost 6,5 USD.

LINKS:

La Glace potato cake here

Recipe (in Danish) here

21 cakes invented in Denmark here

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2012 1:29 pm

    Yummy. I like such cream and there is also similar cream puff

  2. August 28, 2012 5:43 pm

    Mange tak for dette websted. I look forward to exploring it a little more. In the meantime, I’ve bookmarked it.

    • August 30, 2012 11:17 pm

      I am glad to hear that, Sidsel, – am I right about you having Danish roots? I hope you will enjoy this site, please let me know if you are curious about certain subjects. 🙂

  3. August 29, 2012 10:21 pm

    Oooh, that looks decadent!

  4. September 25, 2012 7:58 am

    Just had breakfast but never mind… I went on a “pâtisserie”-pastry” tour thanks to your beautiful pictures 😉 The potato cake made me wonder : “Where did they hide the potatoes, it looks like chocolate ?” It must be really delicious. Then I visite La Glace. Oh, what temptations ! Margrethekage, Sarah Bernhardt, Mazarin and more… not only do they look pretty but also tasty. If I ever visit Danemark one day, I will make sure to stop over in a pastry shop and invite you there for a cup of tea and more.

    • September 25, 2012 9:17 am

      (Big smile) Isa, you know about finding good quality stuff! La Glace is the finest “konditori” * we have in Denmark” selling their quality cakes in their own cafe.
      *Konditori” is translated as tea room, but a “konditor” is translated as a confectioner, so I will call it “A confectioners cafe”. Anyway, we will go there together, I´m looking forward!
      The potatoe cake are supposed to have a shape like a potatoe, that is all. Some bakes might have forgotten that, or perhaps chosen to make their own style. 🙂 Oh, after so much cake talk, I wish I had one right here …

Leave a Reply

