Skip to content

GA-JOL lakrids / Liquorice

March 12, 2013

GA-JOL from “GALLE & JESSEN” is the name of very popular liquorice pastilles, sold in millions every year, – as many as 600.  GA-JOL have been at the market since 1933, but was actually tried sold – without succes – as far back as 1875, at that time under the name “Icelandic moss pastil”. I believe this name would sell perfectly today, but apparently not at that time.

The name GA-JOL is a combination of the two inventors names; GALLE, JESSEN and  MENTHOL. There are 11 different types , I´m eating the salt licorice while I´m writing this.

LINKS:

Find Ga-jol at Facebook as: Ga-jol

The different types of GA-JOL

Wikipedia about Liquorice

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2013 5:48 pm

    Oooh, I was quite mad about liquorice when I was little – haven’t had it for a long time! This brought back some lovely memories!

    • March 14, 2013 8:29 pm

      Is it a common product in your country, can you buy several different types? I hope someone will give you another liquorice experience soon. 🙂

  2. April 7, 2013 1:53 pm

    Newer tasted them – must be delicious.

    • April 12, 2013 10:28 am

      There are many different types, strong and mild, they are very good when getting “a little rusty”, or just for the taste. Thank you for your comment, Sartenada

  3. April 29, 2013 9:42 pm

    What’s the difference between the yellow ones and the blue and red ones? They’re the ones I used to eat when i was a kid… and still do when I can get them 🙂

    • April 30, 2013 3:40 pm

      The blue and red are the original ones, as you know, the yellow are salt licorice, without sugar. I´ve found out that they are quite good to use at irritation caused by pollen, but this is just my own experience. There are several other new types, but I stick to the salty ones. Or the traditionel. Do you remember the saying: The Danish weather is GA-JOL weather?

  4. Kimberly permalink
    June 25, 2015 3:07 pm

    can you buy them on line?

  5. June 26, 2015 4:49 pm

    Hi Kimberly.

    I have found a link for you, to a webshop selling Danish things to people living abroad. You can buy Gajol from there, among other things.

    Remember to choose between the 5 different types of Gajol.

    http://hjemve.dk/product/gajol-2-stk-pakke-52-gram-7861/

    or

    I can send you a packet, if you send me your adresse, to dailydenmark@gmail.com

    Birgitte

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.